Annual Awards 2021

Saturday 20th November 2021 saw the return of our annual awards, held in person at the Howard Memorial Hall.

A lot of hard work goes into delivering any club event, so thanks must go first to Helen Masters, Social Secretary for shouldering the burden of the work with support from Michael Finch and Martin Trice.  Thank you.

Following our meal, we presented Tom Odell with his two awards prior to his early departure for a night shift.

Nick Howlett then led a discussion and Q&A from some of our seasoned members who each have a strong interest in different areas, providing a comprehensive view of cycling:

  • Anthony Bee / Short & long distance time trialling;
  • Jamie Harris / Zwift;
  • Keith Walker / Short & long distance time trialling and road racing;
  • Michael Finch / Community Cycleworks; and
  • Richard Master / Bicycle maintenance and technology

Clin Maisey, Club President then presented the main body of our Annual Awards, with of course well earnt flowers and chocolates to Helen Masters first.

The full list and images are below with some notable winners being:

  • Adrienn Rocco, Cyclerama Award for completing her first 100km ride to Sandwich to support members of Wigmore CC racing in the Cyclocross races;
  • Rowan Murphy, Paul Buckley Go-Ride Champion and Junior Zwift Award for being such as strong competitor and entering many areas of cycling as a sport; and
  • Tom Odell, 2nd Evening Scratch League, who riding a road bike gave TT bike riders more than a run for their money in the Evening 10 series.

The traditional raffle followed, with our great friends The Bike Warehouse Gillingham donating 3 great helmets as prizes; thank you!

We hope everyone had a great evening and is looking forward to next years challenges, maybe with a new bike or gadget from Father Christmas, or indeed The Bike Warehouse!

The full list of Go-Ride winners:

Ewan DelaneyMost Committed Rider (male)
Grace DelaneyBest Newcomer
Harry Brown“L’Equipier” Rider of the Year
Riley WastallMost Improved Rider (male)
Summer CassMost Improved Rider (female)
Anna DobbinsMost Skilful Rider (female)
Owen RogersMost Skilful Rider (male)
Rowan MurphyPaul Buckley Go-Ride Champion
Junior Zwift League

The full list of Wigmore competition winners:

Julien Barton2nd Evening Handicap League
2nd Evening Vets League
Stuart WhiteBill Philbrook Memorial Trophy
Steve Harman1st Evening Handicap League
Jamie Harris2nd Evening Club Events League
2nd Anderson Points League
3rd Evening Scratch League
3rd Evening Handicap League
Frankie Finch1st Evening Junior League
Dylan Harman2nd Evening Junior League
Harry Brown3rd Evening Junior League
Cameron Carthew3rd Evening Club Events League
Tom Odell2nd Evening Scratch League
Len Chambers Massed Start Cup
Edmund EverallClub Hill Climb Champion
Zwift Shield
Len Payne Off Road Trophy
Kevin FordTourist Trophy
Adrien RoccoCyclerama Shield
Anthony Bee3rd Anderson Points League
3rd Evening Vets League
Dave Bedford 10 mile Cup
Len Chambers 25 Mile Cup
Charlie Staff Memorial Shield
Presidents Short Distance B.A.R. Champion
Clubman of the Year
Keith Walker1st Evening Club Events League
1st Evening Scratch League
1st Evening Vets League
John Booty Club Events Cup
Anderson Points Cup
R.A. Burns 50 Mile Cup
Fairyland 100 mile Trophy
Senior B.A.R. Champion
Hill Climbing Champion

Photo gallery