2021 Evening 10 reports

E10 TT LEAGUE, ROUND 2, 28th APRIL 2021

Iwade – Q10/20

It was another cold and windy evening, but with the wind in a different direction, so most riders were faster than last week.

Jamie Harris and Tom O’Dell both improved by 1m 42s and Cameron Carthew by 1m 39s.

The fastest was Keith Walker with an excellent time of 23m 33s. Phil Appleby was second with a very good time of 24m 02s, with Tom O’Dell 3rd with a time of 25m 13s.

Spare a thought for young Harry Brown who punctured at the start.

Many thanks to all the helpers, they were,

Antony Bee, Paul Buckley, Mike Finch, Kevin Ford, Clin Maisey, Richard Masters, Dave Smith and Martin Trice.

Next Wednesday, 5th May, we will be at Iwade again with the Medway VC, starting at 7 pm.



Iwade – Q10/20

This year’s evening 10 mile TT series started on time, unlike last year when it was July before we were allowed to start any TT.

With a cold wind blowing into their faces at the start, 13 riders braved the elements, with 10 Wigmore members which included 2 new to time trailing and 1 new member.

Congratulations to Cliff Cunningham (4T) whose time of 24m 52s was very good in the windy conditions. In 2nd place, just 10s slower was club General Secretary Phil Appleby. I believe Tom O‘Dell’s time of 26m 55s is a PB which gave him maximum points in the HCP League. He has obviously been training hard during the lockdown.

New time trialists Adrienn Rocco and Harry Brown (who is 17 years old) did very well to complete the course. New member Kate Savage has raced before and decided to join the Wigmore this year.

We hope you were not put off by the weather conditions, it can only improve. We hope to see you next Wednesday. Kate’s husband Mike Savage took some fabulous photo’s of the event and are available on his website to buy should you wish to do so.

Next Wednesday 28th April we will start at 7 pm with sign-on from 6 pm till 6.45 pm.

Many thanks to all the helpers. They were Antony Bee, Mike Finch, Kevin Ford, Clin Maisey, Richard Masters, Rodney Smith, Martin Trice and Bill Windsor.

Just a reminder, every rider should help with the running of two events (juniors are excluded from this rule). If we get enough non-racing members helping you will only have to help once. You cannot win an award if you do not help.