75th Anniversary Awards

Our 75th Anniversary Awards evening was on 18th  November 2023 and saw the return to the location where the was club founded in 1948 – the Wigmore Smallholders Club.

A lot of hard work goes into delivering any club event, so thanks must go first to Helen Masters, Social Secretary and Kirsty Wastall for shouldering the burden of the work with support from Mike Finch, Bob Philbrook and Martin Trice.  Thank you.

Following our meal, we were thrilled to have cyclocross legend Ian Field speaking about his career as a cross racer and his journey to get there and his new role as coach at http://veldcoaching.co.uk. Our host for the evening Bob Philbrook ensured things ran smoothly.

Bob and Jon from the Go-ride section were on hand to announce the prizes as Ian kindly gave them out with a smile and a handshake. Not before some well-earned flowers for Helen and Kirsty for their sterling work in organising the event.

The full list of winners is below but some notable awards are here:

  • Steve Harman, Dave Bishop and Marin Stoichkov, Cyclerama Award for completing Lands End to John O’Groats.
  • Henry Twynam, “”L’Equpier” rider of the year for being super helpful and supporting younger riders at Go-ride sessions.
  • Keith Walker, for a truly amazing tally of awards.

The traditional raffle followed, with our great friends The Bike Warehouse Gillingham donating some awesome prizes.

There was also a special prize paid for by the Philbrook family for introductory coaching vouchers for Luke Anderson’s new cycle coaching venture Luke Anderson Cycle Coaching. Find out more about Luke’s offering at https://lacc.uk. We wish Luke all the very best with his new venture.

It was great that some old club members could attend too, and there was a display of club memorabilia from years gone by.

We hope everyone had a great evening and is looking forward to next years challenges, maybe with a new bike or gadget from Father Christmas, or indeed The Bike Warehouse!

The 75th Anniversary Wigmore CC prize winners
Caitlin DobbinsMost Improved Rider
Cameron Carthew3rd Evening Scratch League (Road Bike)
Laurence BaileyMost Improved Rider (Primary Age)
Henry Twynam“L’Equipier” Rider of the Year
Mike Finch1st Evening Scratch League (Road Bike)
Jamie Harris2nd Anderson Points League
Miles TwynamMost Committed Rider
Julien Barton1st Evening Scratch League
2nd Evening Handicap League
2nd Evening Vets League
John Booty Club Events Cup
Zwift Shield
Marin Stoichkov2nd Evening Scratch League (Road Bike)
Luke SmeetonBest Racer
Dave Wastall2nd Open TT League
3rd Anderson Points League
Luke AndersonLen Payne Off Road Trophy
Sonny JennsBest Newcomber
Franco Della MuraTrack Shield
Dave and Kirsty WastallClubman of the Year
Alex HollidayMost Improved Rider (Secondary Age)
Steve Harman/David Bishop/Marin StoichkovCyclerama Shield
Richard Masters1st Evening Handicap League
3rd Evening Scratch League
3rd Evening Club Combined League
3rd Evening Vets League
Tourist Trophy
Jude TippinsJunior Zwift Award
Anthony Bee3rd Open TT League
Dave Bedford 10 Mile Cup
Len Chambers 25 Mile Cup
Presidents Short Distance B.A.R. Champion
Keith Walker1st Open TT League
1st Evening Vets League
2nd Evening Scratch League
2nd Evening Club Combined League
3rd Evening Handicap League
Anderson Points Cup
Bill Philbrook Memorial Trophy
Club Hill Climb Champion
Club Hill Climbing Champion
Len Chambers Massed Start Cup
R.A. Burns 50 Mile Cup

Click on any photo to run the gallery